The Best Results of Concacaf Teams in the CONMEBOL Copa América™



  • For the second time in its history, the CONMEBOL Copa América™ will have 16 participants, six of which are members of Concacaf.
  • Mexico, Honduras, and the United States have reached decisive stages of the tournament throughout their history. 

In Ecuador in 1993, it was the first time that teams from outside CONMEBOL were invited to participate in the tournament. Mexico and the United States were invited on that occasion, which ended with «El Tri» reaching the final. Luis Hernández was the standout player of that team, which came very close to achieving a similar feat against Argentina. 

This wasn’t the only occasion when Mexico reached the runner-up position in the CONMEBOL Copa América™. In Colombia in 2001, the team coached by Javier Aguirre would once again bring home the Silver medal from the continental tournament. 

In addition to these runner-up finishes, Mexico would achieve third place in the tournament on three occasions: Bolivia 1997, Paraguay 1999, and Venezuela 2007. 

Another team that had a dream debut in the CONMEBOL Copa América™ was Honduras. Invited to participate in the tournament for the first time in Colombia in 2001, «La H» reached third place, and the brilliance of that unforgettable team ended with Amado Guevara being chosen as the tournament’s best player. 

Meanwhile, the United States reached the semifinals of the CONMEBOL Copa América™ on two occasions: the first was in their second participation in the tournament, in Uruguay in 1995 with Eric Wynalda as the top scorer; the second was in 2016, with Clint Dempsey as their main attacking threat. On both occasions, they finished in fourth place. 

Four other Concacaf teams participated in the tournament in the past: Costa Rica, Panama, Jamaica, and Haiti. Of these, only «Los Ticos» managed to advance past the group stage in 2001 and 2004. 

In the CONMEBOL Copa América 2024™, the 48th edition in history, we will once again have six Concacaf teams: the United States, Mexico, Panama, and Jamaica are qualified, and two places are yet to be determined between Canada-Trinidad and Tobago and Honduras-Costa Rica. 

Which of all the Concacaf teams will achieve the best position this year?