Argentina's first CONMEBOL Copa America™️



  • In 1921, the Albiceleste achieved their first-ever victory in the continental tournament.
  • This edition featured the participation of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

The 1921 CONMEBOL Copa America™️ took place in Argentina from October 2nd to 30th of that year, with the Club Sportivo Barracas Stadium in the city of Buenos Aires serving as the tournament’s sole venue. The host nation secured the continental title for the first time in their history.

The Albiceleste became champions by winning all three matches without conceding a single goal throughout the competition. Their leading scorer, Julio Libonatti, also topped the tournament’s scoring charts with three goals.

Libonatti notched a goal in each of the three matches during the title campaign. Two years later, he made history by becoming the first South American player to be transferred to Italy, joining Torino Football Club. He went on to represent the Italian national team in 17 international fixtures, scoring 15 goals for the ‘Azzurra’.

Chile did not participate in this edition, but the absence was compensated for by Paraguay’s inaugural participation, which also marked their debut in international competitions. The ‘Albirroja’ already donned their traditional red and white striped shirt and included Gerardo Rivas in their squad, a 16-year-old forward who secured their first goal against Uruguay.

Only 14 goals were made in 6 matches, averaging 2.33 goals per game, which stands as one of the lowest records in CONMEBOL Copa America™️ history.