Argentina claims the continental cup on home soil in 1925



  • Argentina lifted their second-ever continental trophy.
  • The competition was held from November 24th to December 25th, 1925, in Buenos Aires.

The 1925 CONMEBOL Copa America™️ took place at the stadiums of Club Atlético Boca Juniors and Club Sportivo Barracas in Buenos Aires. The Argentinian team emerged as champions for the second time while playing on home turf.

For the first time in the history of the competition, only three teams competed for the title: Argentina, as the host nation, Brazil and Paraguay.

Due to the limited number of participants, it was decided to hold two rounds of matches. Brazil and Argentina both defeated Paraguay in their respective games; as a result, their direct clashes would be the defining ones.

The championship-deciding match took place on December 25th, 1925, on Christmas Day. The outcome was a 2-2 draw, securing Argentina’s title as champions, having previously won the first match.

Amphiloquio Marquez, known as Filó, was one of Brazil’s standout players in this edition. Almost a decade later, in 1934, he became a world champion with Italy, competing under the name Anfilogino Guarisi.

Argentina were crowned champions with the majority of Boca players (8) on the field. The ‘Xeneize’ team was experiencing a surge in popularity, having recently completed a successful European tour during which they won 15 out of the 19 matches.

Argentine Manuel Seoane took center stage as the tournament’s top scorer and brightest star, netting six crucial goals (two against Paraguay and four against Brazil) that were fundamental to the ‘Albiceleste’ winning the title.

In total, six matches were played, resulting in 26 goals scored, with an average of 4.3 goals per game.