100 CONMEBOL Copa America historical facts, second part


You should know now when the tournament was played for the first time with the 10 selections and several curious facts about the continental competition.

74. Chile scored the first own goal of the Cup: In the South American Tournament of 1917, Luis Alberto Garcí scored the first own goal in the history of the competition in the match that ended 1-0 in favor of Argentina.

100 historical facts about the CONMEBOL Copa América Part 1

73. Defense, striker and referee: The Brazilian Joao de Maria was a defender, striker and referee in the South American Football Championship of 1920. He was the central referee of the Argentina – Chile match.

72. Paraguay, two matches with a 6-1 result: In Chile 1926, the Guarani team participated in two games that ended with that score, beating Bolivia (6-1), but losing to Uruguay (1-6).

71. Four goals in 5 minutes: In the duel in which Uruguay won by 9-0 against Bolivia in the 1927 tournament, the celestes scored 4 goals between minutes 65 and 69.

70. A tournament that was played in two different years: The South American Football Tournament of Argentina in 1937 began on December 27, 1936 and ended on February 1, 1937.

69. For the first time it was played at night: The South American Football Tournament of 1937 was played in Argentina, in the fields of San Lorenzo, River Plate and Boca Juniors. For the first time in history, those matches were played at night and with artificial light.

68. Debut as TD and as a player: The Ecuadorian national team debuted in the South American Tournament in 1939. This premiere was also marked by the appearance of Ramón Unamuno, not only as a player, but also as a coach of the Ecuadorian team.

67. More participations as referee: The Argentine Bartolomé Macís was the referee with the most participations in the Copa América. He was in 25 games between the editions of 1937, 1941, 1942, 1945 and 1946. He arbitrated Chile in 12 opportunities and Brazil in 10.

66. Football as legacy: One of Ecuador’s outstanding football players was Enrique Raymondi, who played as a striker in the 1945 Cup. Years later, his son, also called Enrique, also played the tournament in 1963.

65. Colombia debuts in the tournament: One of the last selections to join the South American tournament was Colombia, which debuted at the South American Tournament in Chile in 1945. The «cafetero» team played six matches, won 1, tied another and lost 4.

64. Friends during halftime: The substitutes of the Paraguay and Uruguay National Teams spent time together, as friends, during the break of the match between both national teams in the 1946 tournament.

63. Ecuador debuts as host of the Cup: In 1947, the city of Guayaquil hosted the South American Championship for the first time, making Ecuador debut as host of the tournament.

62. José Manuel Moreno, numerous Argentine champion: Nicknamed ‘El Charro’, Moreno, in 1945 he was champion with the de España Club, of Mexico, in 1949 with Universidad Católica, of Chile, and in 1955 in Colombia with Independiente Medellín. In addition, he won the title of the South American Tournament in 1947 and that same year he won his fifth championship with River Plate.

61. Bolivia begins to wear the green jersey: The traditional uniform of Bolivia appeared in the 1953 tournament. Before they had worn a white jersey in 1926 and to this date it is not known why they wore a black and white striped jersey in 1946.

60. Five English and one Brazilian: In Peru 1953, six referees led the tournament. Five of them were English and one Brazilian. Paraguay was the champion.

59. From the Cup to Europe: Omar Sívori and Antonio Valentín Angelillo won with Argentina the South American Tournament in 1957. Both were known as ‘Los Carasucias’, in their youth and daring game. After the tournament, Sivori went from River Plate to Juventus, and Angelillo from Boca Juniors to Inter Milan.

58. György Orth, a traveler TD: In the 1957 tournament, the Hungarian Gyoury Orth directed the Peru National Team. In the same way, Gyoury was the coach of nine national teams: Argentina, Germany, Chile, France, Hungary, Italy, Peru, Portugal and Mexico.

57. Ecuador and a multi-champion coach: For the tournament in 1959, the Ecuadorian team had the Uruguayan Juan López as coach. Lopez guided the team of his country in the 1947 and 1957 Cups and was the World Champion in 1950.

56. A new champion in 1963: For the first time in history, the Cup was played in Bolivia and the champion was the local team. The coach of the Altiplano team was the Brazilian Danilo Alvim, who won the tournament with his country in 1949.

55. A match of altitude: For the first time in the history of the tournament, matches were played at over 3.600 meters. It was in Bolivia in 1963, which had as host of several games in the city of La Paz.

54. A doctor was beginning to forge his history in football: In 1963, the Colombia Team had the debut of the coach Gabriel Ochoa Uribe. ‘El Doctor’ became one of the most important coaches in the «cateferos» history of football.

53. Victory that could not be repeated: Despite having 8 players of the historic team of 1963, the Bolivian National Team could not repeat the achievement in 1967 and finished last, without any win or goals.

52. A tournament of 10 and 90: For the first time in the history of the Cup, in the 1975 edition of the tournament it featured 10 South American national teams and they were divided into groups. Matches were played in all countries, and the tournament lasted as never, 90 days.

51. In Colombia the TD and 10 players make their debut: In the match that Colombia won 1-0 against Paraguay in Bogotá in the 1975 tournament, all the players except Arturo Segovia debuted. The same happened with the coach Efraín ‘Caimán’ Sánchez.

50. N 32-player team: Record in the tournament. The champion Paraguay used 32 players for the 1979 tournament that was played throughout South America. After the nine matches played, the Guarani raised the trophy.

#VibraElContinente with the CONMEBOL Copa América Brazil 2019, tournament that will have place from June 14 to July 7. Wait for the third part of this article next on April 25.