The poll to choose the name of the official mascot closes today



More than 21.500 followers have voted for Capibi or Zizito, the two options to name the official pet of the 46th edition of the oldest national teams tournament in the world. All users of social networks can continue voting in the official channels of the Copa América Brazil 2019 on Facebook and Twitter until Friday, April 12 at 1:11 p.m.

Asunción, April 12, 2019. Since the announcement of the vote on Friday, April 5, this capybara, symbol of the South American fauna, has raised great expectation in social networks, as shown, the participation figures with 12.830 and 8.905 users who have voted in the official channels of the CONMEBOL Copa América on Twitter and Facebook respectively.

So far, #TeamZizito leads the way with more than 60% of the votes, so the vote promises to be exciting until the last moment.

The two options that can be voted until this Friday, April 12 at 1:11 p.m. (Brazilian time) are:

• Capibi is a tribute to the indigenous population of South America, the people of the earth. The name mixes the phonetics of the words in Tupi kapii’gwara-capibara – e yby – earth, ground that is stepped on.
• Zizito pays tribute to Brazilian idol Zizinho, top scorer of the CONMEBOL Copa América with 17 goals. The suffix «ito» is the diminutive form in Spanish, like «inho» in Portuguese.

The option chosen by the users will be communicated at 1:20 p.m. this Friday, and the official mascot of the oldest selections tournament in the world will be ready for the great celebration of continental soccer to begin.

CONMEBOL Copa América Brazil 2019

The 46th edition of the oldest tournament in the world, which returns to Brazil after 30 years, will be held in five host cities (Belo Horizonte, Porto Alegre, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and São Paulo) and with 12 participating teams. In the championship, nine reunited FIFA World Cup titles and some of the biggest stars in world football.

In addition to the ten South American member countries of CONMEBOL (Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela), Japan and Qatar will participate as guests.

After the draw held in January, in Rio de Janeiro, Group A was made up of Brazil, Bolivia, Venezuela and Peru. Group B has Argentina, Colombia, Paraguay and Qatar while Group C has Uruguay, Ecuador, Japan and Chile.