The last 5 finals of the CONMEBOL Copa América™

Discover the last 5 finals of the CONMEBOL Copa América. Relive the thrilling moments and the victories that defined the recent history of the tournament.

April 23, 2024
  • Argentina reached three finals and Brazil two.
  • Chile, with two titles, is the most successful in this period.


The 48th edition of the CONMEBOL Copa América™ will take place on July 14th at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. 16 teams from across the continent dream of reaching the biggest stage of the oldest national team tournament in the world.

In the last five editions of the CONMEBOL Copa América™ were filled with thrilling finals: some were decided on penalties and others very closely contested.

Argentina 2011: Uruguay 3-0 Paraguay


The final was played at the Monumental Stadium in Buenos Aires and had Uruguay and Paraguay as the finalists. La Celeste had performed well in the 2010 World Cup (finishing fourth) and ended up winning 3-0 with goals from Luis Suárez and Diego Forlán (twice). Managed by Óscar Tabárez, the team lifted Uruguay's 15th CONMEBOL Copa América™, placing them as one of the tournament's most successful teams.

Chile 2015: Chile 0-0 Argentina (4-1 on penaltys)


The Chilean National Stadium in Santiago hosted the final between Argentina and the host country. Following a 0-0 draw in the first 90 minutes and extra time, La Roja won on penalties to claim their first title in the tournament's history, with Jorge Sampaoli as coach. Alexis Sánchez scored the decisive penalty, and Claudio Bravo was chosen as the best player of that tournament.

United States 2016: Chile 0-0 Argentina (4-2 on penaltys)


Again, Chile and Argentina met at the end of the tournament, but this time at the Metlife Stadium in New Jersey. The final ended in another 0-0 draw, and Chile won their second consecutive title on penalties. Francisco Silva converted the decisive penalty to seal the victory for the team led by Juan Antonio Pizzi.

Brazil 2019: Brazil 3-1 Peru


At the legendary Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro, the Verdeamarelha faced Peru. It was a victory for the home team, led by Tite, with goals from Éverton, Gabriel Jesus, and Richarlison, while Paolo Guerrero had equalized the match. It was Brazil's ninth title in the CONMEBOL Copa América™.

Brazil 2021: Argentina 1-0 Brazil


Once again, the Maracanã hosted a final of this prestigious tournament. The home team was again one of the finalists, and this time, on the other side, was Lionel Messi's Argentina. La Albiceleste, led by Lionel Scaloni, won 1-0 with a goal from Di María and ended a 28-year drought without winning the tournament. In this way, they lifted their 15th star and equaled Uruguay as the most successful teams in the tournament.

On July 14th, the CONMEBOL Copa América United States 2024™ will be decided, and the whole continent hopes to be able to reach the final in Miami.

Related news