Hosts Brazil lift the Cup in 1919 - Heading to the 2024 CONMEBOL Copa America™️

August 10, 2023
CONMEBOL Copa América™
  • Brazil won their first CONMEBOL Copa America™️ as the tournament hosts in Rio de Janeiro.
  • The final match pitted Brazil against Uruguay and stretched to a duration of 150 minutes, making it the longest game ever recorded in the competition's history.

The 1919 CONMEBOL Copa America™️ was the first edition held on Brazilian soil, while also representing the first championship title for the 'Canarinho' among the nine they have secured to date.

The tournament featured the same four countries from the preceding editions: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Uruguay.

All matches took place at the Estádio das Laranjeiras in Rio de Janeiro, which is owned by Fluminense Football Club, from May 11th to 29th, 1919.

The locals emerged victorious in the championship, yet a tiebreaker match had to be played, as both Brazilians and Uruguayans had concluded the tournament with an equal number of points. With the score remaining goalless throughout the initial 90 minutes, two additional periods of 30 minutes each were arranged, resulting in a total duration of over 150 minutes.

The winning goal for the 'Canarinho' team was scored by Arthur Friedenreich in the 122nd minute of the bout.

A total of 27 goals were scored across seven matches. Brazilians Arthur Friedenreich and Neco shared the top scorer position in the tournament with four goals each. Together, they accounted for 73% of Brazil's goal tally.

An official from outside South America refereed in this edition: Englishman Robert Todd officiated in three of the seven fixtures that were played.

Related news