Enzo Francescoli: three-time CONMEBOL Copa America™ champion

November 11, 2023
CONMEBOL Copa América™
The iconic Uruguayan star clinched the continental title in 1983, 1987, and 1995.
He netted a total of 5 goals across the 16 games he played in the tournament.

Enzo Francescoli was undoubtedly one of the most graceful and spectacular South American forwards to emerge in the 1980s. Known as 'Príncipe del Gol' ('Prince of Goals'), he shares a deep connection with the CONMEBOL Copa America™ while representing Uruguay.

He competed in four editions of the continental tournament, winning three and finishing as runner-up once. Francescoli is also the last player to have been crowned a three-time champion of the competition, triumphing in the 1983 edition played across the continent, as well as in Argentina 1987 and Uruguay 1995.

He scored 5 times in the 16 games he played, the most significant being his pivotal strike against Brazil in the first leg of the 1983 final.

The first title –

In 1983, Uruguay once again became champions of the CONMEBOL Copa America™ by beating Brazil in the Final, after securing a 2-0 victory in the first leg in Montevideo and playing to a 1-1 draw in Salvador in the return match. Enzo Francescoli emerged as one of the key players in the team and contributed as a scorer in the grand final.

The triumph in Argentina –

In the 1987 CONMEBOL Copa America™, Uruguay secured the championship with the luxury of playing only two matches. Their direct qualification for the semifinals as the champions of the previous edition saw them facing the home team in that very stage.

Although Francescoli did not score, he featured in both of Uruguay's matches: a 1-0 victory over Argentina in the semi-finals, featuring a goal from Antonio Alzamendi, and the 1-0 win over Chile in the final, sealed by Pablo Bengoechea's strike.

Three-time Champions of America –

The Uruguayans confirmed their unbeatable reputation at Montevideo's historic Centenario Stadium by winning the 1995 CONMEBOL Copa America™, played at home, guided by the leadership and genius of Enzo Francescoli.

Francescoli found the net in the first two Group Stage matches, putting away goals against Venezuela and Paraguay. Additionally, he successfully converted his penalty shot during the title-deciding shootout against Brazil in the final, following a 1-1 draw in regulation time, resulting in a 5-3 victory for Uruguay.

Related news