Brazil wins back-to-back championship in Paraguay 1999

Brazil wins the bicampeonato in Paraguay 1999. Explore the key moments and highlights of their historic triumph in the CONMEBOL Copa America.

May 2, 2024

The Canarinha lifted their sixth title of the competition.

It was the first and only edition of the tournament where Paraguay was the host.


Brazil became back-to-back champions during the 39th edition of CONMEBOL Copa América™, held in Paraguay in 1999. Paraguay organized the continental tournament for the first time, along with new stadiums and the colorful presence of thousands of fans.


Brazil showcased enormous talents with legendary players such as Rivaldo, the tournament's best player, goalkeeper Dida, their captain Cafú, Roberto Carlos, and Ronaldo.


Ronaldo played his last CONMEBOL Copa América™ in 1999. The Brazilian won all 13 matches he played in the tournament, scoring 10 goals. Among the players with a 100% winning record in the tournament’s history, the Phenomenon played the most matches.


The Canarinha achieved 12 consecutive victories during the tournament, the longest winning streak in history. They won all their matches in 1999 and in the previous edition, clinching back-to-back titles for the first time.


This edition was the only one Rivaldo participated in. The Brazilian, along with his teammate Ronaldo, finished as the top scorer of the tournament with 5 goals. He scored four of them in the knockout phase: two in the Final against Uruguay, one in the Semifinal against Mexico, and one in the Quarterfinal against Argentina.


It was a tournament with significant participation from young footballers. Making their Copa America debuts were Roque Santa Cruz (Paraguay), Juan Román Riquelme (Argentina), Ronaldinho (Brazil), and Johnnier Montaño (Ecuador), the latter, at just 16 years, 5 months, and 147 days, became the youngest player in the tournament's history.


Japan were one of the teams outside of CONMEBOL that was invited, becoming the 14th participant in the tournament's history and the first from outside America™.


The hosts were eliminated in the Quarterfinals against a team that would become one of the sensations of the tournament, Uruguay, who managed to advance to the Final but fell short against Brazil.


– Brazil's Road to the Title –


Group Stage:


– Brazil 7-0 Venezuela –


BRA: Ronaldo (26’ and 63’), Emerson (40’), Amoroso (55’ and 82’), Ronaldinho (75’), Rivaldo (84’)


– Brazil 2-1 Mexico –


BRA: Amoroso (20’), Alex (45’)


MEX: Isaac Terrazas (74’)


– Brazil 1-0 Chile –


BRA: Ronaldo (36’)


Final Phase:


– Brazil 2-1 Argentina – Quarterfinals


BRA: Rivaldo (32’), Ronaldo (48’)


ARG: Juan Pablo Sorín (11’)


– Brazil 2-0 Mexico – Semifinals


BRA: Amoroso (25’), Rivaldo (43’)


– Brazil 3-0 Uruguay – Final


BRA: Rivaldo (20’ and 27’), Ronaldo (47’) / OPTA

Related news