Brazil maintains its dominance in 2007

Brazil continued their dominant run in the CONMEBOL Copa América™ by winning their 4th title in the last five tournaments

May 10, 2024
  • The Brazilian national team won their eighth CONMEBOL Copa America™ in 2007.
  • It was the first time that Venezuela hosted the continental tournament.

Brazil became champions for the fourth time in the last five editions of the tournament, with a team that grew stronger with each game after a defeat in the first group match. The team had the winning touch from Dunga in his first competition as a coach.

The Canarinha had a combative and balanced game with a lot of talent in the squad, such as Robinho, who was the top scorer of the tournament with six goals.

Brazil won the CONMEBOL Copa America™ for the eighth time, including two consecutive finals against Argentina: 2-2 in a penalty shootout victory in 2004, and 3-0 in 2007.

Brazil's victory over Argentina marked the fifth occasion that a CONMEBOL Copa America™ final ended with a three or more goal difference. Until then, Brazil had achieved this four times (1922, 1949, 1999, and 2007), while Paraguay completed the record (3-0 against Chile in 1979). Uruguay added another in 2011 (3-0 against Paraguay).

For the first time, Venezuela hosted the CONMEBOL Copa America™, ensuring that all 10 CONMEBOL countries hosted the competition at least once. The tournament was played in nine stadiums, packed with spectators.

The format of 12 teams was repeated, with Mexico and the United States as guests, in an edition that featured top scorers from the continent like Santa Cruz, Cabañas, Crespo, and Suazo, along with emerging stars like Lionel Messi, who made his first appearance in the tournament.

Argentina was one of the favorites to win the title, with a team full of stars. However, they couldn't beat Brazil in the Final, as Brazil lifted the trophy with a 3-0 victory against Albiceleste.

Mexico returned to the podium, while Uruguay finished fourth and became the first team to participate in 40 editions of the continental tournament.

During CONMEBOL Copa America™ 2007, 86 goals were scored in 26 matches, with an average of 3.3 goals per game, the highest since 1963 (4.3) and still unmatched in subsequent editions.


Brazil's Road to the Title

Group Stage

Mexico 2-0 Brazil

  • MEX goals: Nery Castillo (23’), Ramón Morales (28’)

Brazil 3-0 Chile

  • BRA goals: Robinho (36’, 83’ and 88’)

Brazil 1-0 Ecuador

  • BRA goal: Robinho (56’)

Final Phase

Brazil 6-1 Chile - Quarterfinals

  • BRA goals: Juan (16’), Júlio Baptista (23’), Robinho (27’ and 50’), Josué (68’), Vágner Love (85’)
  • CHI goal: Humberto Suazo (76’)

Brazil (5) 2-2 (4) Uruguay - Semifinals

  • BRA goals: Maicon (13’), Júlio Baptista (45’+8)
  • URU goals: Diego Forlán (45+4’), Sebastián Abreu (70’)

Brazil 3-0 Argentina - Final

  • BRA goals: Júlio Baptista (4’), Roberto Ayala (40’ OG), Dani Alves (69’) / OPTA

Related news