When hosts Colombia lifted the CONMEBOL Copa America™️



  • In 2001, the Colombian team became champions of the continental tournament for the first time in their history.
  • This July 29, 2023, marks the 22nd anniversary of the ‘Cafetera’ triumph in the grand final against Mexico.

Colombia hosted the CONMEBOL Copa America™️ for the first time in 2001. With a magnificent campaign, they finally managed to lift the continent’s most coveted trophy in unbeatable fashion, securing victory in every match and not conceding a single goal throughout the entire tournament.

The team, led by captain Iván Ramiro Córdoba and coached by the historic Francisco Maturana, achieved a historic milestone by securing their sole title in history, showcasing not only great skill and talent, but also love for the team’s colours, strong identity and group cohesion. Adding to that was the overwhelming national pride fuelled by the fans’ unwavering support, who stood by them from the beginning to the end of the competition.

In the opening phase, Colombia was drawn in Group A alongside Venezuela, Ecuador, and Chile. The team kickstarted their incredible winning streak with a 2-0 victory against Venezuela, courtesy of goals from Freddy Grisales and Victor Aristazábal, to earn their first three points.

In the second round, the Colombians defeated Ecuador 1-0, with Aristazábal netting his second goal of the tournament. The striker continued his impressive run in the third round, scoring again in the 2-0 victory over Chile, where Eudalio Arriaga completed the score. With three consecutive wins, Colombia completed a perfect group stage, with nine points.

The quarter-finals saw Colombia facing Peru, and they delivered a commanding 3-0 thrashing in the city of Armenia. Aristazábal stood out once again, scoring two goals in the game, while Giovani Hernández netted the third for the ‘Cafeteros’.

Honduras would be next in the semifinals, after knocking out Brazil 2-0 in the previous stage. However, Colombia did not let the challenge phase them. They opened the scoring in the 6th minute of the first half through Gerardo Bedoya, and Victor Aristazábal doubled the gap in the 63rd minute, notching his sixth goal in the competition and securing the top scorer award.

On the other side of the bracket, Mexico had ousted Chile in the quarter-finals and secured a spot in the grand final by beating a strong Uruguayan side in the semis. As a result, the Aztecs would face the hosts at El Campín Stadium in Bogotá, with both teams vying for their first title in the competition.

In the final match on July 29th, the Colombian team stepped onto the pitch wearing the iconic yellow jersey, featuring Óscar Córdoba as the goalkeeper, with Mario Yepes and Iván Córdoba in central defence; Gerardo Bedoya as the left-back and Iván López on the right; the midfield was comprised of Fabián Vargas, Juan Carlos Ramírez, Freddy Grisales, and Giovanni Hernández, while Elkin Murillo joined top scorer Victor Aristazábal up front.

In front of a fully packed stadium, Colombia clinched their first title at home, thanks to a sole goal scored by captain Iván Ramiro Córdoba, who headed a cross sent by Iván López in the 65th minute to unleash the Colombian celebration in Bogotá.

Colombia was crowned champions of America for the first and only time. Their impressive feat of lifting the cup without conceding a single goal, combined with their flawless winning record, stands unmatched to this day.